Communication Training and Curriculum Development

Employee acknowledgement of policy updates and new policies

• 1.  Employee acknowledgement of policy updates and new policies

Posted 09-26-2019 11:32 AM
    I'm new to the world of compliance, and I'm currently working on a big project to organize our policies and procedures into one database where we can create, disseminate for acknowledgement, publish, etc.  My question for the group is, do you require all policies to be acknowledged and put out a notification of all changes?  Is there a best practice here?  Also, how do you handle changes to more minor policies.  For instance, if you're updating your dress code, pto, and other policies that may not be as important as updates to your sexual harassment or code of conduct policies, do you send out notifications/acknowledgements each time there's an update to these policies?  Any insight you can provide would be much appreciated!

------------------------------
    Rebekah Rutland
    Compliance Manager

Austin,TX
    2020 SCCE Membership

• 2.  RE: Employee acknowledgement of policy updates and new policies

Posted 09-26-2019 11:48 AM
    We have an assortment of policy categories. We have HIPAA Privacy and Breach policies which are kept separate from Security and Cyber policies, separate from Corporate policies and then general Employee Handbook policies. The examples you gave would fall into our Employee Handbook. Those changes are generally updated once a year and require a signature attestation by all staff that they have been read. Occasionally we might have a singular update that is serious enough to get put out before the annual update. Again we would get the attestation.