Privacy Officer's Roundtable

Physical Mailing of e-PHI DVD

• 1.  Physical Mailing of e-PHI DVD

Posted 06-23-2020 01:09 PM
    Hello Everybody,

I am completely new here, so apologies if I am not doing something right or posting the the wrong communities.

I am a new cyber security analyst, and I've recently started addressing high-risk areas. One of them included ensuring there I documented procedures for our Medical Records department when they are physically mailing e-PHI DVDs. There was no documented standard, so I am trying to establish something for them.

My Question:
    How do other organizations handle sending e-PHI through the Postal Service? If the disc was encrypted, would the password/key need to be sent in a separate package? I tried researching this quite a bit, but discovered nothing to help with this specific question. Any ideas or knowledge on this matter are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Parker

------------------------------
    Parker Torbett
    Cyber Security Analyst
    Tulsa,OK
    2020 SCCE Membership

• 2.  RE: Physical Mailing of e-PHI DVD

Posted 06-23-2020 02:20 PM

Parker,

I don't have experience from a medical records perspective, but from purely a security point of view...YES you should always communicate any access credentials separately from the file being sent...otherwise, a bad actor that intercepts the package would also have access to the encrypted data.

Best Regards,

Scot Lovejoy   

Scot Lovejoy RPh. CHC CHPC

Chief Pharmacy Officer

Compliance Officer

Agadia_itself (625x184) (625x184) (100x29)

9 Campus Drive, Suite 200

Parisippany, N.J. 07054

(O) 973-540-8400  x227

(C) 973-570-3803

(F) 973-540-8440